Why Do We Need Church

Just being a pastor’s wife makes people think they need to give me a list of excuses reasons as to why they can’t come to my church. Most of the times the reasons precede the invitation. It is true that I value Church. It is true that probably before the end of our conversation, or sometime during our friendship, I WILL ask you to come to church with me (or ask you what church you attend), but that’s just because I love it so much! **Please, friends, know that your answer to that question does not make or break our friendship!** So… WHY do I ask? Why is it that so many Christians fill church pews each week. What is the big deal? I mean, you CAN be a Christian even if you don’t attend church, right? Well…

To be saved, the Bible does not say one must attend a church. To receive the gift God gave us all on that cross (the gift of eternal salvation), church attendance was not a stipulation… but don’t let out your sigh of relief just yet… (be sure to keep reading!!!)

Private worship is good. A person can be engaged at home with no distractions of kids, of candy wrappers, or someone clapping off beat. There are no hands to shake at home, and well, no hypocrites to have to rub elbows with. So why not just stay home? You can find lots of sermons online or on tv… and you even get to attend Bedside Assembly in your favorite pair of pjs. But this assumes that going to church is solely supposed to be personal. This excuse reason only addressed the individualized portions of church. Private worship can be inspiring, spiritual, and even give you the goose bumps… but to me it’s like saying, “I must have a heart beat, I must breath, but to be alive I don’t need to EAT!”

Yep, no doubt we need blood in our veins. And we have to have oxygen to breath, but we won’t survive if we stop there… In our lives, salvation is #1. But if we just stop there… We need church! Here’s why…

 

  1. It is part of our training!  Without hearing another view outside of our own, we can easily lead ourselves down the wrong path with the very best intentions. Listening to a tv preacher (or via radio) leaves you without opportunity to ask questions and lessens your training experience.
  2. Worship is an invitation given by God. We should never look at it as an obligation, so we should never feel that rebellious feelings of being FORCED to go. When my kids don’t want to come for whatever reason (usually they are tired, or playing and don’t want to be interrupted…) I do not say to them, “WE HAVE TO! IT’S WHAT A GOOD PERSON DOES!” I instead tell them that once we’re there, we’ll remember how much we love it. I tell them that it’s something God wants for us, and a great way we can give back to Him. I remind them of what Psalms 84:10 says, “Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.” Worshiping as a community is a gift. A blessing and something we will love once we have truly experienced it. WHEN we remain true to God’s plan for Church, we’ll find we long for it! **If your church isn’t Biblical, find another. But if it’s just a preference thing, give it a chance!
  3. CHURCH IS WORTH IT!!!!
    The relationship with prayer partners, with those who help us carry the burden, and with those whose burden we are able to lift… IS WORTH IT!
    The accountability… even when we blow it… IS WORTH IT!
    The corporate prayer, the laying on of hands… IS WORTH IT!
    The praise reports that build our faith… IS WORTH IT!
    The corporate singing… IS SO WORTH IT!!! I love to sing in my pjs- coffee in one hand, the other raised in adoration for all He’s done. I love to shout His praise songs while filling my dishwasher in my kitchen. I love spending quiet time in worship with God (when I can find any quiet in this house!) But every major moment I’ve ever recalled in my walk with Christ has occured in the midst of corporate worship. Nothing takes it place. NOTHING! IT IS WORTH IT!

And if that isn’t enough (it really is for me… but just in case)…

4. The Bible says so. “Let us consider how we may spur one another on towards love and good deed, not giving up on meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another- and all the more as you see the Day approaching” Hebrews 10:25 (emphasis mine). Church isn’t a new thing. Believers have been attending since THE church began. We read in Acts that the first christians met- “They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and fellowship, to the breaking of bread and the prayers.” (Acts 2:42)

And honestly, if your a Christian, it’s an act of obedience. John 14:23 shows us where Jesus is speaking to his followers saying, “If you love me you will obey my teaching.” And when we obey in this area, we will see our walk grow closer to Him.

Finish reading Acts 2. You will find that church attendance for a Christian is so much deeper! It’s not all about you. (I didn’t bold it to yell… so tell that offended spirit to simmer down!) You are missing out on all you can offer others in the name of God when you miss out on worshiping corporately. At the risk of sounding overly cliche, might we say, “Ask not what your church can do for you, but what you can do for your church.” You have the perfect opportunity to be used by God in a mighty way when you submit yourself to a local church!

 

So, now what? Just GO! There are so many you can choose from based on preference. (and some you shouldn’t go to… just pick one that teaches the Word… read your word so you know the difference). So, pick one and GO!

You’re always invited to sit by me!

 

 

 

The Pastor’s Wife attends Crossroads Church in St. James, MN. Services are… Sundays: 10a.  Tuesdays 6:30 Adult Bible Study.  Wednesdays 6:30p Youth@Crossroads and Kids@Crossroads. We are located at 721 Weston Ave. Contact Pastor Dave at 507-375-5920 for any questions.

What do you think?

