Ministry

You Kiss Your Mother with that Mouth

I want to introduce you to my MAN! He’s writes a column in the paper on a rotation with some of the other daveypastors in town. I love when he does because I see people throughout town and I stand a tad bit taller when people approach me and tell me, “I sure did like your husband’s article in the paper!” So I asked him to send me a copy so I could publish it, too. I sure hope that’s legal… So, if you didn’t read it in the paper, you have another chance…
The original can be found in St. James Plaindealer… pick up your own copy before the new one comes out!

You Kiss your Mother with that Mouth?
                                                                            By Pastor Dave Ciske of Crossroads Church

When my family and I first moved to St. James, I knew very little, if anything about farming.  I think I’ve learned at least a little more in my 3+ years here.  I was “amazed” when talking to a farmer a short time ago at his description of how they figure out the correct time to harvest soybeans.  The farmer goes out to the field, picks a pod, checks if it pops open indicating the correct dryness, and then he pops a bean in his mouth to check the moisture level of that.  There is a small contraption he uses to test the overall moisture of the beans so the farmer can get the most “bang for his buck”, but I was a tad surprised, with technological advancements, that this is still the way the farmer works.  Before that conversation I thought they had robots going out there doing it…I kid.

One thing I didn’t need a farmer to tell me, though, was that when the farmer sows soybeans, and the conditions are correct for growth, that farmer is going to reap soybeans.  The farmer that plants a soybean, isn’t going to grow an avocado tree.  Agriculture in general is a prominent theme and metaphor used in the Bible.   Specifically, Galatians 6:7 states, “Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap.” (ESV)  Earlier in Galatians 5:22-23 we’re given the fruits of the Spirit (love, joy, peace, etc.).  To put it simply, if you’re interested in these fruits growing in you, you’re going to need to plant seeds of love, joy, peace, etc., and not seeds of hate, anger and malice.

I don’t know if you’ve heard or not (again, I kid), but there’s a school referendum we’re voting on in November.  The referendum itself has not done this, but the two sides of it have sown some seeds of discouragement in me, personally.  I have heard some pretty hate-filled, malicious talk from both sides of this and it’s appalling.  What’s even more concerning, is when you hear the words of Christ in Luke 6:45, “For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.” (NKJV)  In some of the hateful things I’ve heard or seen on social media, I can’t help but think, “There’s no way they feel this way because of a referendum…there are deeper issues there”, but I digress.  This isn’t a counseling session.

Don’t get me wrong…I have no problems with the passion from either side.  There should be passion.  We’re talking about two important subjects, our children and our money.  But we have to learn that we can disagree with someone and not hate them and speak maliciously against them.

Studies show that the most powerful earthly influence on a child is not the teacher, a peer, a pastor, etc.  It’s the parent(s).  “If (parents) do not invest enough of their time and commitment into pouring emotionally into their child, the child will struggle to learn how to regulate his emotions and interact with others appropriately.” (Bethel Moges & Kristi Weber) How you treat those you disagree with (whether that person is around or not) will have a more profound impact on your child than any referendum that’s ever passed or not passed, now and in the future of this school district.

If you don’t have a personal relationship with Christ, and are tearing people down as they stand on the opposite side of you in this referendum, I encourage you to find Christ by simply saying, “Lord, I need you”, then get in contact with one of the Christian pastors from one of the churches next to this article.  If you have a relationship with Christ, and are speaking maliciously of others, repent!  Turn from your ways and cry to God for forgiveness.  Then I encourage you to go to the person(s) you have come against and ask for forgiveness.  If you really want to make an impact, bring your kid with so they can see what humility and forgiveness is all about.

Thank you, Pastor, for reminding us to play nice! If you’d like to hear more from Pastor Dave, please visit us at Crossroads Church. We meet every Sunday at 9a for Sunday School, and 10a for service. We meet on Wednesdays at 6:30p (adults and children for all of these services) and if you have a teen (or pre-teen) 6th-12th grade Youth@Crossroads meets on Tuesdays at 6:30p.
Questions? Call the office at 507-375-5920

What do you think?

